We got to do a remake of UA

An archive of older ua2 projects without source code
Tigerhawk71
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Tigerhawk71 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:41 am

JakeLoko wrote:Well......
we can use the actual UA how a base... and only change the models...the graphics .... and create another vehicles
thats the more dificult if we create more scenarios
But we can use the base of UA at the moment we have some...advantages
No, you can't.

The fact that we can't modify the models and create new ones is exactly why nobody has done it in the last 12 years.
I am both Devast8tor71 from the old days of UAHQ, and Tigerhawk71.

User avatar
Grim0x
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Jamaica
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Grim0x » Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:25 am

I agree!
It was a darn shame that the mighty MS didn't continue this product. :evil:
YES, it wasn't "highly received" at first, but with the poundage Microsoft gained over the years through conniving, it could have endorsed the game, and got people into it - got them to understand it.
This game would have been something to talk about today, because BELIEVE me, it was/IS unique.
The concept of it is sheer genius- its an RTS game where you can "jump" into the unit!!
I mean, imagine Red Alert 2 , with that capability...
Just awesome.

It WILL however, take tremendous effort to make a "remake" of this game.
IF by remake you mean a new version, from scratch, with an updated engine, then it will take serious time and effort by knowledgeable programmers.
A full team may get it done in 3-4 years, depending on the scale / improvement of the game.
Thusly, u can understand that with just a handful of( enthusiastic as they may be :p) programmers, you're looking on a LOT of time, and perhaps frustration.

What I would recommend we seriously consider, is the more feasible Idea of making a comprehensive patch.

This patch could contain all / a specific set of mods (created by you guys – which, I see you already have!), as well as updated textures (to make the game look better – this would take a lil work, but is more likely to be possible to made / edit textures, than models) in addition to that, it would patch the default UA game of a user, to utilize all the fixes that you guys have made, such as the BOT helicopter behavior.

All in all – it would be a comprehensive “patch” in the full sense of the word, and would update/overwrite existing files of UA for its downloaders.
We could really made a different looking / feeling game that way ^_^

What do you guys think?
Last edited by Grim0x on Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''%'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''Image''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''%''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
I have accepted Jesus Christ as my personal savior. If you have too and you aren't afraid to say it, copy and paste this into your signature

UrbanAce3
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by UrbanAce3 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:43 am

Hm i am with Grim0xl that would be easier if only we could find out how to open the model files.
UrbanAce3~
:/i163.photobucket.com/albums/t318/Al-Khabir/UrbanAssaultSig7.gif[/img]
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/SulgogarsUB2.png[/img]

User avatar
Grim0x
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Jamaica
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Grim0x » Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:04 am

What is the directory path to the model files (under UA main folder).

I'd like to fool around with them.
I'm gonna spend some time trying to find out what programming tool could be used to view / edit their variables.
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''%'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''Image''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''%''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
I have accepted Jesus Christ as my personal savior. If you have too and you aren't afraid to say it, copy and paste this into your signature

UrbanAce3
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by UrbanAce3 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:08 am

I do not know it exactly but i think they are the SKL files as they are a model format. here is an idea why not edit MDs files then we could have as many campaigns as we wanted!
UrbanAce3~
:/i163.photobucket.com/albums/t318/Al-Khabir/UrbanAssaultSig7.gif[/img]
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/SulgogarsUB2.png[/img]

Nemphis
Ghargoil 1
Ghargoil 1
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Nemphis » Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:33 am

SKL files eh hmm i think i could find a converter to put them into 3d max but I'm not entirely sure

EDIT: apparently all it will require is an import ill try this later after i get back from college

UrbanAce3
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by UrbanAce3 » Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:57 pm

Maya was ment to be able to open them but it can not i downloaded the demo for nothing
EDIT wait do you have 3ds maxs and can you model ?
UrbanAce3~
:/i163.photobucket.com/albums/t318/Al-Khabir/UrbanAssaultSig7.gif[/img]
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/SulgogarsUB2.png[/img]

Nemphis
Ghargoil 1
Ghargoil 1
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Nemphis » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:35 pm

i most certainly do and yes i can but i cant make textures

UrbanAce3
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:39 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by UrbanAce3 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:29 pm

Wow a modeler here at Stoudson Corporation forgive me for being surprised but wow!
If you have any spear time and you do modeling for a hobbie i am co leader of Extreme Modding Group http://www.extrememoddinggroup.com/EAW/ we mod EAW and if you have maxs 9 or 8(they are needed to Export into alo) we would not mind having a modeler my nick name there is haylay.
UrbanAce3~
:/i163.photobucket.com/albums/t318/Al-Khabir/UrbanAssaultSig7.gif[/img]
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/SulgogarsUB2.png[/img]

Nemphis
Ghargoil 1
Ghargoil 1
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: We got to do a remake of UA

Post by Nemphis » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:36 am

i would gladly take you up on your offer however i am currently modeling for a large mod for the game Star Trek: Bridge Commander but after it is released i will gladly give you a hand

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest