UA:Source

For general topics about Urban Assault and any Urban Assault-related topic that doesn't fit anywhere else. If you're not sure, it probably goes in here.
Felishya
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:14 am
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Felishya » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:19 am

Hey there!

UA:S with the MD Expansions keeps crashing, if the Easy Cheat (Screenshots, Replays ...) for the ENV is active in the .ini. Just found it out. :)
Image

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:33 am

Felishya wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:19 am
Hey there!

UA:S with the MD Expansions keeps crashing, if the Easy Cheat (Screenshots, Replays ...) for the ENV is active in the .ini. Just found it out. :)
Please, more info, how I can reproduce it. What steps are needed? Because I didn't get any crash on MD.

What exe build is used? What crash address is reported? Or may be you can give full crash report? Also is this somehow modified MD or vanilla? It's all important because I can localize problem and fix it quick.
合体! ライオカイザー

Felishya
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:14 am
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Felishya » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:06 am

I'll check it in the next days and give you all information that is needed.

Build was 0.94-1 unmodified.
Maybe there was some other issue.

I'll try to reproduce it with MD, Vanilla and modded.
Image

User avatar
CharlotteLabyrinth
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: Schloss Charlottenburg..?
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by CharlotteLabyrinth » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:30 pm

Felishya wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:19 am
Hey there!
Hello and welcome! :)

Zidane wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:33 am
Felishya wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:19 am
UA:S with the MD Expansions keeps crashing, if the Easy Cheat (Screenshots, Replays ...) for the ENV is active in the .ini. Just found it out. :)
Please, more info, how I can reproduce it. What steps are needed? Because I didn't get any crash on MD.

What exe build is used? What crash address is reported? Or may be you can give full crash report? Also is this somehow modified MD or vanilla? It's all important because I can localize problem and fix it quick.
I might have experienced similar problems before, but cannot ascertain if it was directly caused by active 'easy_cheat_keys'... :P Rest assured, I'll report back later if I could manage to replicate on my own.
;--------------------------------------------------
;
; Vielleicht der niedlichste Hubi, Knuddel.
;
;--------------------------------------------------
„ Helfen - Wehren - Heilen “

Personal Declaration: I always use different usernames across different websites. Hence if you ever see my username is being used outside of Stoudson Corporation, I absolutely have no affiliation whatsoever with that!

Bennit
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:58 pm
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Bennit » Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:25 pm

Hey guys, new person here. First, I wanted to give a big thanks to everyone who makes this childhood favorite still work today! I've been reading up on how to get it to work on my current PC. When I saw Source, it was the answer to my prayers! (as I've been trying on and off for years to get it to work) And I'm soooooooo close. As far as I can tell, everything works! (Including the helicopters! Which is the one thing i could never get fixed before) But now, I've hit a new snag. 2 really, but one of them is more of an annoyance rather than a problem.

The joystick doesn't work correctly. When I press the stick in any direction, the camera and units turn left. Up and down work fine. And if i try and if I turn right, it will keep the camera from rotating left.

This appears to be my only obstacle from playing one of my favorite games (at least in the way I want to play it.) any help anyone could give me would be much appreciated! :D

(The other "problem" is that the throttle used to control forward and backward movement. It doesn't now, but mapping them to buttons on my joystick is a good replacement that I can be satisfied with)

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Ormu » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:03 pm

Bennit wrote:
Sun Mar 10, 2019 1:25 pm
Hey guys, new person here. First, I wanted to give a big thanks to everyone who makes this childhood favorite still work today! I've been reading up on how to get it to work on my current PC. When I saw Source, it was the answer to my prayers! (as I've been trying on and off for years to get it to work) And I'm soooooooo close. As far as I can tell, everything works! (Including the helicopters! Which is the one thing i could never get fixed before) But now, I've hit a new snag. 2 really, but one of them is more of an annoyance rather than a problem.

The joystick doesn't work correctly. When I press the stick in any direction, the camera and units turn left. Up and down work fine. And if i try and if I turn right, it will keep the camera from rotating left.

This appears to be my only obstacle from playing one of my favorite games (at least in the way I want to play it.) any help anyone could give me would be much appreciated! :D

(The other "problem" is that the throttle used to control forward and backward movement. It doesn't now, but mapping them to buttons on my joystick is a good replacement that I can be satisfied with)

Welcome to the forums. Zidane explained joystick configuration in this post:

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1589&p=17135#p17135

Have you tried the "alternate joystick tank controls" option? It might be useful for setting the forward/backward movement controls.
Image Im in ur base, stalkin ur hoststation


Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

String_Relativity
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:46 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by String_Relativity » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:18 am

I have the source but cant get it to become an .exe file
Not very experienced at compiling source or anything for that matter
“If you want to find the secrets of the universe,
think in terms of energy, frequency and vibration.”
- Nikola Tesla

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:05 pm

String_Relativity wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:18 am
I have the source but cant get it to become an .exe file
Not very experienced at compiling source or anything for that matter
It's really easy on linux and harder on windows. On windows you needed to download and build dependings or use something like http://win-builds.org where you can easy install needed packages. But I'm not sure it's contain all needed.
合体! ライオカイザー

String_Relativity
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:46 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by String_Relativity » Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:13 pm

Zidane wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:05 pm
String_Relativity wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:18 am
I have the source but cant get it to become an .exe file
Not very experienced at compiling source or anything for that matter
/snip/
It's really easy on linux and harder on windows.
It's basically command prompt on Linux which sounds really nice.
I've played several missions now and can't believe i let this gem stay dormant for decades!
Thanks for the help too i will look into it!

PS: Is it possible to just download the exe?
“If you want to find the secrets of the universe,
think in terms of energy, frequency and vibration.”
- Nikola Tesla

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Sat Apr 27, 2019 1:53 pm

String_Relativity wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:13 pm
Zidane wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:05 pm
String_Relativity wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:18 am
I have the source but cant get it to become an .exe file
Not very experienced at compiling source or anything for that matter
/snip/
It's really easy on linux and harder on windows.
It's basically command prompt on Linux which sounds really nice.
I've played several missions now and can't believe i let this gem stay dormant for decades!
Thanks for the help too i will look into it!

PS: Is it possible to just download the exe?
In first post of this thread links to already builded exe for windows
合体! ライオカイザー

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest