UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Urban Assault is an old game and its rare blend of FPS and RTS deserves to be seen again. For those of you who want to start/coordinate projects to make an Urban Assault 2, this is a dedicated forum for you!
destronom
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by destronom » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:57 pm

No this idea is not DEAD!!!
I'm just really busy at the moment... I will not give up this project ;-)

MaxXxiking
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:50 am

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by MaxXxiking » Wed Nov 21, 2012 6:11 pm

Thanks for the answer :D
I would help but dont have the needed know how... :?
I DONT CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAREEEEEEEEE

destronom
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by destronom » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:04 pm

Should I take the old user-interface of UA(ingame and main-menu)? or do you have any ideas to make it better? Moreover are there any networking experts here on this Board?

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 858
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by GoldStar611 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:50 pm

destronom wrote:Moreover are there any networking experts here on this Board?
What type of networking experience are you in need of? I know a few standards but haven't implemented anything too complex before.
Image
Image

destronom
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by destronom » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:25 pm

Basic Network RTS Game sync. Do you know the best way of syncing all the Clients?
My Idea:
1. All Clients are sending the actions performed to the Server.
2. The AI only runs on the Server side.
3. Positions of all Vehicles are periodically sent to the Clients.
(so all Data is handled by the Server, the Clients only send actions)

What do you think about this Idea?

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 858
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by GoldStar611 » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:37 pm

sounds like what I remember from how unreal tournament worked. Everyone connected to a server computer and via UDP, the clients request a position update if something changed. Health, collisions, respawn items etc were handled on the server to prevent cheating by clients.
Image
Image

destronom
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by destronom » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:23 pm

Ok then I'll try this way.
I'm currently doing the Main Menu and the Game Lobby. Does anyone have the time to do some Buttons, UA2 Logo, general UI Design or Background Image, Video?
Does anyone wanna model the Sectors(with buildings etc?).
You can contact me on skype: flippsi93

User avatar
Thomas Fredson
Emperor of the Mykonians (Veteran)
Emperor of the Mykonians (Veteran)
Posts: 574
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by Thomas Fredson » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:23 am

Unfortunately, only things I'm able to do is some Sound Design/IG Music... :/
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png[/img]
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB2.png[/img]
://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t318/Al-Khabir/UrbanAssaultSig4.gif[/img]

Also administrator of UAFr Board

The Big Mistake album in progress! (ABORTED)

User avatar
Brachy UA FREAK
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Austria or next to a Parasite

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by Brachy UA FREAK » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:58 am

Concerning the building: What formats can you use??

If you could somehow convert from source engine I could help...
GET YOUR HANDS OFF FROM THAT PARASITE!
Or
I LL QUADDA YOU

://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/X01-Quadda.gif

Myko Mod [MID] back alive after long hiatus!

destronom
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:29 pm

Re: UA2 with Dark GDK Engine

Post by destronom » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:05 pm

Well for the Engine I need the X File Format (http://paulbourke.net/dataformats/directx/)
It would be easier for me if the Models are made with Sketchup. So I can also adjust the size, position of the Model.

Post Reply