"High Res" textures possible

For those of us who are curious and like to poke around in the game's data files and scripts as well as glitching. Caters to anything from unit/building stats to level data to telling how to glitch and stories of game errors.
Post Reply
GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

"High Res" textures possible

Post by GoldStar611 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:05 am

Today after viewing the textures outside UA, I wondered if it was possible to have 1 vehicle/building/ground unit source it's textures from multiple bitmaps.

I did a quick test using a Weasel (also called SIMPL in many internal places) and it seems to be possible.

I added a new amesh.class object and then moved 3 sides from the old amesh.class object to the new amesh.class object by copy/pasting the ATTS and OLPL data and it WORKED!
VehicleWithMultipleVBMPs.png
VehicleWithMultipleVBMPs.png (1.28 MiB) Viewed 119 times
It may seem that UA is capable of handling a bitmap for each side (most extreme case) which could be a possible solution for higher resolution graphics (too bad we are stuck with 256 colors)
Image
Image

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: "High Res" textures possible

Post by Zidane » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:00 pm

I already add code for handling png and other image formats through SDL_image(planned for 3ds support), but it's needed to replace ilbm loaders for handle it
合体! ライオカイザー

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: "High Res" textures possible

Post by GoldStar611 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:34 pm

I will look into adding support for "png.class" EMRS type :)

Can you tell me how the color palette would handle a PNG with many colors?
Image
Image

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: "High Res" textures possible

Post by Zidane » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:05 am

Textures for 3d objects are converts into 16/32 bits on hardware accelerated screen mode
合体! ライオカイザー

Post Reply