Question About Letters/Fonts

For those of us who are curious and like to poke around in the game's data files and scripts as well as glitching. Caters to anything from unit/building stats to level data to telling how to glitch and stories of game errors.
Post Reply
Mertjaars
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am

Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Mertjaars » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:04 am

Hello everyone!

I'm translating the game to my language in my free time. Turkish has Ö Ü İ Ş Ğ characters but the game shows it differently when used.
Screenshot_2.jpg
Screenshot_2.jpg (1.62 KiB) Viewed 239 times
(Görevden Ayrıl;means leave the mission.Instead of ı there's y with hat)

Is there any way to fix this problem?

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by GoldStar611 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:25 am

gorevdenAyril.png
gorevdenAyril.png (5.63 KiB) Viewed 216 times
I'm sure this isn't much better but this is what UA_Source project displays (I recompiled after making changes to yw.cpp). There may be some loss because of copy/paste from web browser to "text" editor

I think zidane (owner of UA_Source project) has interest in adding better localization support (he is from russia).

UA:Source thread is here viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1589&
Image
Image

Mertjaars
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Mertjaars » Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:34 pm

I've never tried UA_Source.I installed vanilla game with no patch at all. I think Zidane's UA_Source supports characters I showed above as you showed.

How can I install with UA_Source? just copy paste into the game file?

edit: Downloaded the file but ua_source.exe is opening

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 840
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Ormu » Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:06 pm

Mertjaars wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:04 am
Hello everyone!

I'm translating the game to my language in my free time. Turkish has Ö Ü İ Ş Ğ characters but the game shows it differently when used.

Screenshot_2.jpg
(Görevden Ayrıl;means leave the mission.Instead of ı there's y with hat)

Is there any way to fix this problem?
Hm. I don't know exactly what causes this but some thoughts...

Looks like the Dungeon font which is normally used by UA is not installed so UA is using a default font which I think is Arial but I'm not sure. Does this font have all the necessary characters implemented? You can try it in a text processing software, e.g. MS Word.

Dungeon font is provided in the UA installation files and the installer should install it automatically. If you didn't use the installer, the font can be installed by copying it to the Windows font directory. But I'm not sure if it has those characters implemented either.

One solution worth trying is to take a font that implements the required characters, make a copy of it and rename the copy to "Dungeon". Then UA should use it. Be careful if you try this.

Language.dll resources are encoded in UTF-16 but does UA support all UTF-16 characters...? If not, then UA_Source is the only way to go. It uses a different format to store the language components (a plain text file instead of a Windows DLL).
Image
Matthew Lever wrote:Take out Ormus as soon as you see them.
UA community Discord channel: https://discord.gg/7H4dFQH
Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

Mertjaars
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Mertjaars » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:56 pm

Thank you guys for your answers but I'm not expert on such subjects. I'm trying to run UA_Source right now, window opens and shuts down immediately.

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by GoldStar611 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:39 am

Here is a very quick page on I "installing" open UA
https://github.com/Marisa-Chan/UA_sourc ... lling-game

It is pretty much copy/paste some extra files into installation directory
Image
Image

GoldStar611
BlackSect Creator
BlackSect Creator
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:16 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by GoldStar611 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:43 am

The *.lng text file format makes UA Source easier to localize too

https://github.com/Marisa-Chan/UA_sourc ... nguage.lng
Image
Image

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Zidane » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:57 am

UA_source - no special modifications
Снимок экрана_2017-09-28_09-46-18.jpg
Снимок экрана_2017-09-28_09-46-18.jpg (23.43 KiB) Viewed 167 times
Only font with needed glyphs and language file saved in UTF-8
Снимок экрана_2017-09-28_09-51-16.jpg
Снимок экрана_2017-09-28_09-51-16.jpg (19.07 KiB) Viewed 167 times
合体! ライオカイザー

Mertjaars
Firefly
Firefly
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Mertjaars » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:03 am

Thank you guys so much UA_Source works. Last question, what program do you guys use to edit language.lng file? resource tuner doesn't work microsoft word is best option for me for now.

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Question About Letters/Fonts

Post by Zidane » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:55 am

Notepad++ is best for Windows. It's completely free.
合体! ライオカイザー

Post Reply