Page 4 of 4

Re: How do I get multiplayer working?

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:33 pm
by ls_52
Ok...It's cool :) I was able to play multiplayer!! :lol: But it's weird because i had to set up my firewall to manual mode and that the firewall ask me if i wanted to accept a connection, but for 5 minutes, i played UA online :).
Thank you very much Ormu. 3 question more.
1) I have optical fiber (50MB) and all computers connected via Wifi. The wifi signal is excelent in all computers, however, the client pc disconnected from the online game, but i had wifi connected 100%. Is it normal?
2) When i set the ip host from client pc, host pc is detected sometimes by client pc and other times not. It seems to be lucky :lol: Is it normal?
3) When the client pc detects host game, sometimes i try to join it and after 20 seconds, a window appear with the next message: "the session is no longer avaliable" or something like that. I realized that it only happen when the host pc choose a map with 20x20 or smaller...why does it happen?

P.S: Do you still play online? I would like play with you guys :)

Re: How do I get multiplayer working?

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:47 pm
by Ormu
ls_52 wrote:Ok...It's cool :) I was able to play multiplayer!! :lol: But it's weird because i had to set up my firewall to manual mode and that the firewall ask me if i wanted to accept a connection, but for 5 minutes, i played UA online :).
Thank you very much Ormu. 3 question more.
1) I have optical fiber (50MB) and all computers connected via Wifi. The wifi signal is excelent in all computers, however, the client pc disconnected from the online game, but i had wifi connected 100%. Is it normal?
2) When i set the ip host from client pc, host pc is detected sometimes by client pc and other times not. It seems to be lucky :lol: Is it normal?
3) When the client pc detects host game, sometimes i try to join it and after 20 seconds, a window appear with the next message: "the session is no longer avaliable" or something like that. I realized that it only happen when the host pc choose a map with 20x20 or smaller...why does it happen?

P.S: Do you still play online? I would like play with you guys :)


1) Short disruptions in the Wifi may break the game connection even if the computer reconnects immediately. Also, the DirectPlay protocol is old, and the multiplayer engine of UA is also old and might be buggy so various problems may occur.

2) "Sometimes"? Are you sure that the IP was set correctly? It might change after reboot, for example. Otherwise, see 1).

3) See 1).


There are some players who play online, but they're mostly using Gameranger. Without Gameranger, the players must do port forwarding and the host must somehow give his/her IP address to the other players so that they can connect manually. Gameranger makes it simpler as it creates the connections and it can use NAT traversal tricks. In some cases, you need to forward the Gameranger port, but it's just one port (16000).

Re: How do I get multiplayer working?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 8:32 am
by ls_52
Ormu wrote:
2) "Sometimes"? Are you sure that the IP was set correctly? It might change after reboot, for example. Otherwise, see 1).



I know that it is hard to believe, but i could check it. When i set my firewall to manual mode, it always asks me if incoming/outgoing connection can be accepted, but if i check the "remember accion" box, firewall creates a new rule in his system and never asks me again for it. UA always needs firewall ask me for the connection, because if i check "remember action" box, it creates a new rule but for some reason, UA only connect once. When i reboot UA, it doesn't connect....so i have to enter my firewall, to localize the rule, to erase the rule (in both pc) and to pray so UA connects :D

Ormu wrote:There are some players who play online, but they're mostly using Gameranger. Without Gameranger, the players must do port forwarding and the host must somehow give his/her IP address to the other players so that they can connect manually. Gameranger makes it simpler as it creates the connections and it can use NAT traversal tricks. In some cases, you need to forward the Gameranger port, but it's just one port (16000).


When can i find you in UA, guys?

Re: How do I get multiplayer working?

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2016 7:56 pm
by Ormu
Overzealous firewalls can sometimes be problematic. :P


You can find players via Gameranger, though there aren't many active players around. See:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=343

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1247

Re: How do I get multiplayer working?

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 10:25 am
by ls_52
Ormu wrote:Overzealous firewalls can sometimes be problematic. :P


You can find players via Gameranger, though there aren't many active players around. See:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=343

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1247


Woooouuu!! I don't know this game was still alive :) Thank you Ormu!