Metro Dawn on Gameranger

For those looking for a more casual game, or wanting to chat after a game.
User avatar
Brachy UA FREAK
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Austria or next to a Parasite

Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Brachy UA FREAK » Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:37 pm

Good whatever guys:
Whats about a gameranger forum post/ request for Metropolis dawn?
I believe if 20-40 people do this we could be able to get MD on Gameranger:)
Thoughts?
GET YOUR HANDS OFF FROM THAT PARASITE!
Or
I LL QUADDA YOU

://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/X01-Quadda.gif

Myko Mod [MID] back alive after long hiatus!

User avatar
CuSToM_94
Dragonfly
Dragonfly
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:23 am

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by CuSToM_94 » Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:09 pm

Brachy UA FREAK wrote:Good whatever guys:
Whats about a gameranger forum post/ request for Metropolis dawn?
I believe if 20-40 people do this we could be able to get MD on Gameranger:)
Thoughts?
why we don't just put the MD MP maps in the original UA with the SCRIPTS files and then there will be no need for such a thing?
Image

User avatar
Brachy UA FREAK
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Austria or next to a Parasite

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Brachy UA FREAK » Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:13 pm

might be good but not all will do that. Hence some havem aps other don'T have etc...
GET YOUR HANDS OFF FROM THAT PARASITE!
Or
I LL QUADDA YOU

://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/X01-Quadda.gif

Myko Mod [MID] back alive after long hiatus!

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 843
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Ormu » Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:57 pm

Does GameRanger recognize the expansion if Ua_xp.exe is renamed (or "cloned") to UA.exe? I think it should but this has to be confirmed.

edit: Actually this won't help unless Gameranger is able to run UA (the MD executable) with the -env parameter.
Image
Matthew Lever wrote:Take out Ormus as soon as you see them.
UA community Discord channel: https://discord.gg/7H4dFQH
Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

Stefan Karau
Urban Assault Developer
Urban Assault Developer
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: Potsdam, Germany

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Stefan Karau » Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm

CuSToM_94 wrote: why we don't just put the MD MP maps in the original UA with the SCRIPTS files and then there will be no need for such a thing?
because the Metropolis Dawn maps are not only new landscapes, but there also have the 3 additional vehicles. This means that the maps are tuned with these three new vehicles. It is not enoug to have replace this 3 vehicles (in the "Gems", or if they are set as the start-vehicles) you must make a lot of test matches with the replacement vehicles to produce a balance with it...

Greetings
Stefan

Mobster 96
Fox
Fox
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Mobster 96 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:07 pm

Well I'm in. I would love to be able to play the expansion on gameranger as well.

User avatar
Brachy UA FREAK
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Austria or next to a Parasite

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Brachy UA FREAK » Wed Mar 07, 2012 8:15 am

post on the gameranger forum , somewhere I made a post about it, just search gameranger.
GET YOUR HANDS OFF FROM THAT PARASITE!
Or
I LL QUADDA YOU

://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/X01-Quadda.gif

Myko Mod [MID] back alive after long hiatus!

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 843
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Ormu » Wed Mar 07, 2012 7:42 pm

Brachy UA FREAK wrote:post on the gameranger forum , somewhere I made a post about it, just search gameranger.
Posted. :ninja: Copying the expansion files to the original game folders should work but for most people it will be too "messy" way to do that.

But how about playing without Gameranger? You can arrange games via IRC or Gameranger chat and tell your IP, then let people manually join. It probably needs some port tweaking but it shouldn't be that hard.
Image
Matthew Lever wrote:Take out Ormus as soon as you see them.
UA community Discord channel: https://discord.gg/7H4dFQH
Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

Mobster 96
Fox
Fox
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Mobster 96 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:11 am

ya the post on gameranger is pretty hurtin... could use a few more posts on there for shure. :arrow: hop to it people :arrow: it took me a minute to find the forum. its easier to open gameranger and just click on forums under community. Then type in urban assault and find the thread.

User avatar
Brachy UA FREAK
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 1043
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Austria or next to a Parasite

Re: Metro Dawn on Gameranger

Post by Brachy UA FREAK » Sun Mar 18, 2012 5:40 pm

Ok Ormu and me found a way to play MD on Gameranger.

It's basically one thing.

BACK up your old ENV folder
and replace it with the taer env folder.

After playing:
replace taerenv with the old env.

HF and good hammering.
GET YOUR HANDS OFF FROM THAT PARASITE!
Or
I LL QUADDA YOU

://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/MykoniansUB1.png
://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd333/pete_kaboom/X01-Quadda.gif

Myko Mod [MID] back alive after long hiatus!

Post Reply