Hello all!

New here? Introduce yourself to all the fellow Urban Assault players here! (Post counts do not increase in this forum)
Post Reply
ridl8349

Hello all!

Post by ridl8349 » Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Myself, like many others thought this game was dead and gone. I was showing someone the Wikipedia entry and notice this forum as a resource on the bottom of the page. I am ready to play again!! I downloaded the full game but cannot seem to get to work on my Win 7 computer. Ill keep trying though. Any tips for a new guy with intermediate computer knowledge? :oops:

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Hello all!

Post by Ormu » Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:57 pm

Welcome. :) What exactly happens when you try to play UA?

See this page for some information problems on modern systems:

http://www.metropolisdawn.com/wiki/windows_tweaks
Image
Matthew Lever wrote:Take out Ormus as soon as you see them.
UA community Discord channel: https://discord.gg/7H4dFQH
Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

ridl8349

Re: Hello all!

Post by ridl8349 » Thu Jul 07, 2016 2:50 pm

Open UA.EXE, screen goes black for about 1 second, comes back to my desktop, black again for 1 second then back to my desktop.

Tried everything on the link you listed.

Primary rendering instead of software, disabled movies, disabled desktop composition (Aero), turned on draw primitive, and I am running the program from my desktop.

Question, when I downloaded it it was in a RAR, I unpacked and am just running the game from the desktop. Is this ok?

Ormu
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:59 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Hello all!

Post by Ormu » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:25 pm

Hm. What does ypa_log say? It's located in the ENV folder.
Image
Matthew Lever wrote:Take out Ormus as soon as you see them.
UA community Discord channel: https://discord.gg/7H4dFQH
Not all Ormus are mine. When in doubt, please ask...

ridl8349

Re: Hello all!

Post by ridl8349 » Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:08 pm

I just figured it out. I downloaded the heli-patch fixed UA.exe and changed back to software rendering and it worked. Thanks!!

Post Reply