UA:Source

For general topics about Urban Assault and any Urban Assault-related topic that doesn't fit anywhere else. If you're not sure, it probably goes in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:44 am

Open source reimplementation of original Urban Assault game engine

License: GPLv2
Source code: github

Goals:
Rewrite game engine, make it portable and moddable.
Replace d3d/ddraw/dinput/dsound by SDL2/OpenGL/OpenAL
Add support for Metropolis dawn

Not implemented yet:
Multiplayer
Music player (replace for CD-MUSIC)
Video player
Situation analyzer
Replay writer/player (0.87)
Training missions events (0.87)
Voice messages like "Beam gate opened" (0.87)

Some algorithms may contain bugs or errors.
Make copy of your game directory if you don't want to loose save progress when error occur.


Troubleshooting:
Software render not supported make sure you are using primary
Disable software mouse cursor
Enable Draw Primitives


Latest build:
0.86 (Implemented debriefing)
0.86-1 (Minor fixes)
0.86-2 (Fixed debrief upgrades list, player status save, lvl 34 description)
0.87
0.87-1 (Fixed voice message bug)
0.90-2 (Pure SDL2/GL/OpenAL port)
0.92-5
0.92-6 (fix briefing)
0.92-7 (several bug fix)
0.93-1 (New render queue, hardware clipping)
0.93-2 (new sky render)
0.93-3 (fixed ypagun targeting)
0.93-5 (fixed particle bug)
Last edited by Zidane on Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:26 am, edited 17 times in total.
合体! ライオカイザー

User avatar
Bronsteijn24K
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:31 pm
Location: Where there's smoke.......

Re: UA:Source

Post by Bronsteijn24K » Thu Jun 23, 2016 4:14 pm

hey buddy found 2 bugs for you,

1. Got this weird message when i deactivated a studson bomb on L4141.ldf (wide field)
Image

2. The debriefing stopped updating a little after the studson bomb detonated. Also, 395 hours play time!? :shock:
Image
Image

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:03 am

Debriefing had silly bug - not cleaned variable. Fixed.
For message - it's strange code but now must be fixed too.
0.86-1
合体! ライオカイザー

User avatar
CharlotteLabyrinth
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: Schloss Charlottenburg..?

Re: UA:Source

Post by CharlotteLabyrinth » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:48 pm

Excellent work Zidane! With the new 0.86 release all bugs & glitches addressed so far in 0.85 seem rectified. :D :)

The newly implemented debriefing screen works perfectly in 0.86-1, but now there is another issue:
Overall mission playtime in user's profiles at Save/Load screen are not being recorded at all.

I have checked the relevant user.txt file under a player profile in SAVE directory, and apparently the game does not update some of its parameters accordingly; specifically the 'playerstatus' variables which represent a cumulative index for recording each factions' statistical data within player's progress remain unchanged. Normally, their respective information (along with every other entries present in user.txt) should be updated consecutively just after each mission is 'beaten' (exit levels via Beam Gate) by a player.
;----------------------------------------------------------
;
; Vielleicht der niedlichste Hubi, Knuddel.
;
;----------------------------------------------------------

Personal Declaration: I always use different usernames across different websites. Hence if you ever see my username is being used outside of Stoudson Corporation, I absolutely have no affiliation whatsoever with that!

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:59 pm

CharlotteLabyrinth wrote:Excellent work Zidane! With the new 0.86 release all bugs & glitches addressed so far in 0.85 seem rectified. :D :)

The newly implemented debriefing screen works perfectly in 0.86-1, but now there is another issue:
Overall mission playtime in user's profiles at Save/Load screen are not being recorded at all.

I have checked the relevant user.txt file under a player profile in SAVE directory, and apparently the game does not update some of its parameters accordingly; specifically the 'playerstatus' variables which represent a cumulative index for recording each factions' statistical data within player's progress remain unchanged. Normally, their respective information (along with every other entries present in user.txt) should be updated consecutively just after each mission is 'beaten' (exit levels via Beam Gate) by a player.
I will check it on monday after outdoors weekend :)
合体! ライオカイザー

User avatar
CharlotteLabyrinth
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: Schloss Charlottenburg..?

Re: UA:Source

Post by CharlotteLabyrinth » Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:40 pm

Zidane wrote:
CharlotteLabyrinth wrote:Excellent work Zidane! With the new 0.86 release all bugs & glitches addressed so far in 0.85 seem rectified. :D :)

The newly implemented debriefing screen works perfectly in 0.86-1, but now there is another issue:
Overall mission playtime in user's profiles at Save/Load screen are not being recorded at all.

I have checked the relevant user.txt file under a player profile in SAVE directory, and apparently the game does not update some of its parameters accordingly; specifically the 'playerstatus' variables which represent a cumulative index for recording each factions' statistical data within player's progress remain unchanged. Normally, their respective information (along with every other entries present in user.txt) should be updated consecutively just after each mission is 'beaten' (exit levels via Beam Gate) by a player.
I will check it on monday after outdoors weekend :)
Okay. :P Oh and also I found a couple more problems:

- Some types of technology upgrade information are missing on a debriefing screen, such as acquisition of new buildings or increase in a number of weapons. Although I might not be entirely precise with above examples.

- The mission briefing texts on Two Hills(L3434.ldf) do not load properly.

Thanks!
;----------------------------------------------------------
;
; Vielleicht der niedlichste Hubi, Knuddel.
;
;----------------------------------------------------------

Personal Declaration: I always use different usernames across different websites. Hence if you ever see my username is being used outside of Stoudson Corporation, I absolutely have no affiliation whatsoever with that!

User avatar
Bronsteijn24K
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:31 pm
Location: Where there's smoke.......

Re: UA:Source

Post by Bronsteijn24K » Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:30 pm

Hey bro aside from the bug charlotte posted everything is perfect so far, aside from the missing voice clips and such.

Question, is it possible to make a user controlled Host Station move instead of teleporting? Can you code that by any chance? Im desperate to know! :lol:
Image

User avatar
MarioSDU6/SDU7
Slime Lord
Slime Lord
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Panama City, Latin America

Re: UA:Source

Post by MarioSDU6/SDU7 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 12:46 am

Yeah, I was also wondering that, but that's because someone's else keep trying in vain, I think he's called KingPunch (or Ito [his Gameranger ID: 3789716]), trolling both LloydJara and me thinking he can ACTUALLY make a Host Station move without beaming. :lol:

Yeah, everything is so good thus far, although I'll have to test all of that at a later time to see if there are any errors.
Intense Mod progress (it includes tests):
Resistance 100% done
Demo version uncertain fate
New Ghorkov and Taerkasten 100% done

Image
Image
Image

Factions of choice: Resistance, Ghorkovs, Taerkastens

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:25 am

CharlotteLabyrinth wrote:Overall mission playtime in user's profiles at Save/Load screen are not being recorded at all.
Yeah, this (copy of player status) functionality was missed. Fixed.
CharlotteLabyrinth wrote: - Some types of technology upgrade information are missing on a debriefing screen, such as acquisition of new buildings or increase in a number of weapons. Although I might not be entirely precise with above examples.
Only one upgrade was displayed because I have inserted wrong opcode ("end" instead of "new line"). Fixed.
CharlotteLabyrinth wrote: - The mission briefing texts on Two Hills(L3434.ldf) do not load properly.
Oh, silly "scr" parser problem. Parser cut strings at white spaces and map descriptions has a lot of them. Therefore white spaces were replaced by \s but L3434.ldf description was with white spaces. Fixed.
I plan to replace scr-parser for language files in future and make language files more readable.

0.86-2
合体! ライオカイザー

User avatar
Zidane
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Turantul 1 (Veteran)
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: UA:Source

Post by Zidane » Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:33 am

Bronsteijn24K wrote:Hey bro aside from the bug charlotte posted everything is perfect so far, aside from the missing voice clips and such.

Question, is it possible to make a user controlled Host Station move instead of teleporting? Can you code that by any chance? Im desperate to know! :lol:
For now - it's hard to implement correctly because chaos of variable names and their uses. But in future it's may be possible to copy part of code from AI for automatic moving your station to target. Or write your own code for direct controlling like for units.
合体! ライオカイザー

Post Reply